“If You Ain’t First You’re Last!”

Recently, I’ve been feeling overwhelming amounts of sonder for those around, a feeling which not a lot of people get to experience, unfortunately.  Sonder can be defined as the realization that each passerby has a life  just as vivid and complex as our own.  With that being said, I’ve also adopted the idea that everyone is comprised of the universe and vice versa; this is my definition of sonder.  To experience this emotion I believe it calls for one to let go of all thoughts of self, or anything else clouding the mind, and to take in everything around you.  I feel it usually helps to be surrounded by nature.  I want more of this feeling; and I want it for you too!

The reason I call myself ‘wanting more,’ is because 1, who wouldn’t want to see the best in everyone, and 2, in an effort to be more selfless/more Christ-like.  Not everyone believes in the ideals of Christianity, which is understandable.  However, I believe the concepts are worth taking a glance over.

One particular concept that’s been heavy on my mind is that of self, and it comes from the book of Mark, chapter 10, verses 41-45.  It reads, “Whoever wants to be great must become a servant.  Whoever wants to be first among you must be your slave.  That is what the Son of Man has done: He came to serve not to be served- and then to give his life away in exchange for many who are held hostage.”

I don’t know about you, but it seems evident that more likely than not, many of us see ourselves as the center of the universe, including myself.  It isn’t unusual, because it’s only right to take care of ourselves first, but never forgetting about our fellow person.  But all too often we see the team of ‘Me’ rather than the team of ‘US.’  In a perfect world, the words from the book of Mark might be applied everywhere, but…

With this being said, take a second to appreciate those around you as you continue your daily routine into tomorrow.  You never know whose life you’ll impact or how far it will go.  If you’re willing to be last, first, someday you’ll truly be first.

-Much Love

 

 

Leave a Reply

