We Can Do All Things!

Over spring break I took a much needed vacation to Texas to visit my family, whom I hadn’t seen in a least two years.  You’d think that upon my arrival that I’d jump for joy once I had seen them, but it didn’t exactly happen that way.  In fact it was nearly the complete opposite.  Don’t get me wrong, I was ecstatic to reconnect with them, but there was something about being distant that left me feeling exactly that way: distant.  Gratitude to my father, mother, and sister; I left feeling the complete opposite because I know that they will forever be in my corner.

Here’s the news:  During my visit, both my mother and father spoke quite a while about motivation.  Pops said that there are tons of people that rely on external sources to motivate them and to push them higher.  I believe this to be true, however, not for everyone.  Motivating ourselves requires us to reflect on the self-talk that we feed ourselves; and if motivating others is what we’re into, we must first be able to motivate ourselves without that external source.  Fact:  Life is not always going to be all sunshine and rainbows.  There are going to be days when we fall down and it’s going to feel like we don’t have the strength to get back up.  However, if we can make the decision to do so, we’ve already proven to ourselves that we are capable of doing all that we dream of doing and being, ever!  Sometimes that’s all it take.  YOU have to decide what it’s going to be, who YOU’RE going to be, and how YOU’RE going to do it, and it starts right there!

Music is a tremendous part of my life, but on this Monday I made the decision to put music aside for the week.  Instead I replaced it with motivational speakers like Les Brown, Eric Thomas, Will Smith, Charlie Chaplin, and Sylvester Stallone.  I consider them to a force to be reckoned with.

With the help of those mentioned above, I’m here to share with you that you can do anything that you put your mind to.  It sounds cliche, but it’s true. with faith, action and effort, there is nothing that you cannot have!  YOU are great! YOU are a good person! YOU are loved!  YOU are are strong! YOU are beautiful, funny, and special!

Charlie Chaplin spoke enormous truth during his dictator speech, so I finish with a few of his words.  “We all want to help each other.  Human beings are like that.  We want to live be each other’s happiness, not by each other’s misery.  You the people have the power!  The power to create machines! The power to create happiness!  You the people have the power to make this life free and beautiful, to make this life a wonderful adventure!  Now,…what are you gonna do??

Much Love-

Leave a Reply

